My 1st Framed Wreath

6 May
 This is my first framed wreath!  I LOVE it!  I have ruined this poor frame twice and to see it there in all it’s turquoise and brown glory with a perfectly matching wreath makes me SO HAPPY!

Shall we go on the journey of this frame?

Back in November, while leaving our apartment complex the hubby spotted this by the dumpster.

 I LOVE this painting but was NOT digging that golden frame.

So, I spray painted frame dark brown.  BUT I ruined the matte!
I also, did a TERRIBLE spray painting job. 
 Upset, I put this in my closet and haven’t touched it in months.  After seeing all the bright colorful frames all you ladies are making I decided to paint the frame blue and the matte brown.

But, it just doesn’t fit with this painting, does it?   Plus the blues are off.  So, I didn’t like it.  I hung it up here just to get it out of the way while I decided what to do next.  I guest posted at the lovely Bella of Bella Before and After‘s blog about that wreath, if your interested!

Then, I noticed how great it looked with this wreath!  So, I had to cut the painting out of the matted frame.  But don’t worry, I kept it.  I love this painting.  It’s called L’Amour et Psyché, enfants, which translated means Cupid and Psyche as Children.  It’s is a William-Adolphe Bouguereau painting.  I LOVE that it’s not the full version of the painting and therefore I am going to do something with it for Alice’s room.  Any suggestions?? Seriously, I need some suggestions! 


Now, that the painting is cut out this is what it looks like!


Isn’t it great!?  I love it!!  I hung it up in our hallway.  Here are a few more shots.
LOOK!!  It’s a hallway gremlin!! 🙂

So, what do you think?  Much better as a framed wreath?  What should I do with the painting portion?

Here is a little heads up, well actually a BIG heads up!  Sarah with Thrifty Decor Chick, Kate with Centsational Girl, Rhoda with Southern Hospitality and Layla with The Lettered Cottage are teaming up again to throw us another link party series.  It’s called Home May’d!!  I had so much fun joining their Holiday Home link party series.  So get your projects ready!  I know I am ALREADY working on mine!!

Make sure you check out my CRAZY AWESOME GIVEAWAY WEEK and enter!! 

Photobucket
I am linking up to these awesome parties!

{M} Decorchick!  Making The World Cuter ~ The Creative Girl ~ Skip To My Lou ~ Sumo’s Sweet Stuff ~Keeping It Simple ~ Between Naps On The Porch ~ Mad In Crafts ~ Finding Fabulous ~ Sew Can Do ~ C.R.A.F.T.  ~ Craft-O-Maniac ~ Dittle Dattle {T}The Lettered Cottage  Bella Before and After ~ The Pumpkin Patch ~ Today’s Creative Blog ~ Home Stories A 2 Z  ~ A Stoll Thru Life ~ All Thingz Related ~ Tip Junkie ~ Sugar Bee  ~I’m Topsy Turvy  ~ Funky Polkadot Giraffe Ladybug Blessings ~Not JUST a Housewife ~ Running With Glitter ~ A Bowl Full of Lemons  {W} Creations By Kara ~ Someday Crafts ~My Backyard Eden ~Blue Cricket Design  ~Fireflies and Jellybeans ~Sew Much Ado ~Seven Thirty Three  ~ Elements Interiors ~ Lil’ Luna ~ Fabric Bows and More ~ Handy Man, Crafty Woman {T} House Of Hepworths ~ The Shabby Chic Cottage ~Paisley Passions ~ Somewhat Simple ~It’s Fun To Craft  ~What Allie’s Making Now ~ Suzy’s Artsy Craftsy Sitcom ~ Saved By Love Creations ~ Brandy’s Crafts {F} Finding Fabulous ~ Fun To Craft ~Fingerprints On The Fridge  ~ Tidymom ~A Few Of My Favorite Things ~Simply Designing  ~The Shabby Nest  ~Chic On A Shoestring Decorating ~Simply Sweet Home   ~Punpkin Seed Productions  ~My Romantic Home ~ Just A GirlTruly Lovely with the Laney Sisters ~ A Little Knick Knack ~ Naturally Me Creations ~ Lovely Crafty Home ~ Bubbly Nature Creations ~ Inspiring Creations ~ Whipperberry504 Main ~ 30 Days {S} Be Different…Act Normal ~I Am Only 1 Woman ~Funky Junk Interiors ~Tater Tots And Jello ~Along For The Ride ~ Wildflowers & Whimsy ~ A Little Lovely ~ To Sew With Love ~ Saturday Mornings {Sn} I Heart Naptime ~Under The Table And Dreaming ~ Homemaker on a DimeFlamingo Toes ~ Nifty Thrifty Things

Like what you see? Follow me here and keep up to date with all the happenings here at AliLilly!!!

Enter your email address: Delivered by FeedBurner

25 Responses to “My 1st Framed Wreath”

  1. April May 6, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    pretty! I love the colors!

  2. Bella@Bellabeforeandafter.blogspot.com May 6, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    Hey there girly, this looks incredible. LOVE the frame, with the beautiful wreath, it looks so cool. My heart almost broke when I saw you cut the picture out, then I read you saved it, whewww. Hmm, as for the picture, maybe mod podge it to a little table for her, or another piece of furniture. I know, I know, I'm brilliant, lol. Sorry couldn't be more help, he he. Hugs, Bella 🙂

  3. Kara @ Mine for the Making May 6, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    I love the way it turned out!! Great job Ami!

  4. Naturally Me Creations May 6, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I think it turned out pretty also, i love what interesting ideas some of you ladies up come with when it comes to framing things other than pictures & photos. So much fun. :)Tnx for linking your goodies up at Who Made What? Weekends!

  5. chillin with Quillin May 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    IT turned out great, and it looks good where it is hung, really talented!!!Paula

  6. Maria Matter May 6, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Wow, I love this….BEAUTIFUL Ami!

  7. lisbonlioness May 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Diggin' it- a lot!

  8. Jen May 6, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    This is STUNNING! Love the color on the frame, love the wreath, together they make for one beautiful statement! Nice work! I'd love for you to stop by my blog sometime, http://www.icantstopcrafting.blogspot.com

  9. Rhoda @ Southern Hospitality May 6, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    HI, Ami! Fun project & yes, absolutely the big badge is meant to be shared, so glad you did! Looking forward to our May parties!

  10. Leslie May 7, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    That is great. I love the colors together!!!

  11. Holly May 7, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Love the way the blue frame compliments the eggs. I adore your framed wreath. It took me awhile to get over here…but I am here finally and so happy to be following along!Holly504 Main

  12. Jerri May 9, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    How pretty! I'm loving the blue eggs!

  13. Rebecca May 9, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    I love it when something unexpected just smacks me in my face and turns out fabulous. 🙂 Great job!

  14. Trisha @ The Sweet Survival May 10, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    I love how the wreath and the frame perfectly coordinate. So pretty!

  15. ccoffey May 10, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Looks great!Carahttp://miscellaneousme.wordpress.com

  16. Alisha @ Crafty Brooklyn Army Wife May 14, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Love the wreath. Very Springy!! Stopping by from Thirty Handmade Days and your newest follower.Here is my link that I posted for the party: http://craftybrooklynarmywife.blogspot.com/2011/05/wool-buffalo-check-coat-finished.html

  17. To Sew With Love May 14, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    so lovely! thanks for sharing! hope to see you again next week!

  18. Melissa May 14, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I love this! It turned out super cute! I never thought about framing a wreath.

  19. idesign May 16, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    super cute!! nice job 🙂 found you over at mad skills party, come by for a visit sometime!Jackiehttp://jaclyndesigns.blogspot.com

  20. Mary May 16, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Oh. my. gosh!!! That is drop-dead gorgeous, you must be in love with it and so proud of yourself!!!!! Just simply beautiful, I'm serious, love it!

  21. Ashley May 18, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    1st?!! looks amazing..i love it, colors are awesome

  22. Ivy May 19, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    Love this idea and the colors are beautiful. Looks great in your hallway!Ivy

  23. To Sew With Love May 21, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    your wreath is so pretty! thanks for sharing!

  24. {nifty thrifty things} May 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Great idea!!Thank you so much for sharing this @ {nifty thrifty sunday} last week as well!xoxo,Vanessa @ {nifty thrifty things}

  25. Cathy December 20, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    "So, what do you think? Much better as a framed wreath?"Yeah it is better and so refreshing to look at. Love that wreath, eh, as well as its color too. :)Cheers,Cathy@nursing shoes

Leave a comment